Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponic Nutrients and Mediums

Starting seeds in coir


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2011, 05:44 PM
Rkfm Rkfm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 19
Default Starting seeds in coir

Usually I do the usual germinate seed between wet paper towels, then add to a rockwool cube once the tap root appears.

I want to try coir out and was wondering if I could just plant the seed in the coir without the need to germinate then transfer to the coir.

Anyone have experience with this, and how did it go? Any tips?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2011, 06:19 PM
GpsFrontier GpsFrontier is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Havasu AZ.
Posts: 1,831
Default

That should work fine, as long as you keep the temperature in the right range. But that would be the same for any method of germinating. Also keep the coir moist but not waterlogged, and no need to use any nutrients until the start growing true leaves. Then I would start with about 1/4 strength nutrients.
__________________
Website Owner
Home Hydroponic Systems
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2011, 11:32 PM
Rkfm Rkfm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 19
Default

OK, I'll give it a try. I'm beginning to think that coir is a great medium.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.