Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponic Nutrients and Mediums

growing medium

Old 03-15-2010, 09:41 AM

Default growing medium

newbi here and I am just getting started in hydroponics,so I have many questions.so my first question is has anyone ever used fish tank gravel as a growing medium,I cant find hydroton in my area and shipping is to exspensive.the gravel I have was used in a fish tank it is natual with no color,it looks just like river rock but is about a 1/4 to 1/2 inches in diameter thanks in advance

Old 03-15-2010, 10:12 AM

Default river rock

Yes gravel works well, I use river rock (dime size) from my local feed/ seed but Wally world has same just about $1 a bag more. Be sure to wash well to remove dirt before adding to your system.
Old 03-15-2010, 04:43 PM

Quote:
the gravel I have was used in a fish tank it is natual with no color,it looks just like river rock but is about a 1/4 to 1/2 inches in diameter