Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponic Grow Lights

advice needed - sound artist

Old 07-07-2009, 04:48 AM

Default advice needed - sound artist

I am an artist working on a sound installation idea in an Anti-Atomic Shelter in Switzerland.

It will last about 10-15 days, and I want to have a plant or a few plants, specifically strong scented Jasmine, growing in the bunker.

Of course, there is no natural light. I would like to use led grow lamp to give the plant its light, as it is also attractive light to the human eye, and efficient on electricity.

But for that period of time, I guess it would not be a hydroponic system feeding the plant, as it would have to be already flowering for the scent I imagine... a technician could water it and give it nutrient every day.

So, how would I do this - to keep the plant and flower healthy and alive for 15 days in a bunker?

Detailed advice would be very very appreciated thanks

Old 07-07-2009, 10:57 AM

Default bunker grow

use the 2 bulb t-8 flouresent light fixture with 6500k daylight bulbs by phillips (brand)(or equal) leave them on 12-18 hrs a day and the closer to the plant the better the growth will be ,led's are to expensive and do not provide a full enough spectrum to use by themselves,they are great when used in combo with other lights though. i use t-8's to keep donor plants growing and have had some of the same plants for over a year, very electricly efficent . air temp and fresh air exchange are also critical to healthy plants .
my 2 cents worth
Old 07-08-2009, 04:22 AM

thanks !

what about the nutrient and watering for those days under artifical light?

Any more suggestions from anyone?
Old 07-09-2009, 11:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by s55 View Post
thanks !

what about the nutrient and watering for those days under artifical light?

Any more suggestions from anyone?