Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

New here; wanted to say hi.

Old 12-27-2009, 04:50 AM

Default New here; wanted to say hi.

Hi, I'm smurf.

I am new here, and to the world of hydroponics/aeroponics. I am a Chef at a up scale Restaurant. I am not new to gardening however. I have had many large gardens all most to the point of small farms. I am getting out of the fish hobby because ... well its a long story. I used to build large fish tanks (300-500 gallon tanks) and build huge custom filter systems. So going into hydroponics should be easy as far as equipment goes.

So just wanted to say hi and thanks, great site ive learned a lot so far and keep learning more.
Once i get started I will post lots of photos!
smurf

Old 12-28-2009, 10:20 PM

Quote:
I have had many large gardens all most to the point of small farms.
Sounds like hydroponics will be right up your ally because you already know how to grow the plants, just changing over to doing it without soil. Also knowing a few things like how big the plants get, root space needed, do the plants grow like a vine or a bush as well as other things go a long way to designing the best system for your crops. Also with your experience in building fish tanks I'm sure you have had to do some problem solving, and some needing to find different materials to use for your custom setups that will come in handy when building hydroponic systems. Not that designing and building your own hydroponic systems is hard to do by any means, but there is always a learning curve to doing anything and just knowing how to think outside the box is a plus.