Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

Lettuce Yields

Old 09-10-2011, 07:09 PM

Default Lettuce Yields

This is probably a question with no easy answer, but I was wondering how many loose leaf lettuce plants are needed to make a family sized salad. I trying to determine how many spots in my system would need to be occupied by lettuce to allow for a few salads a week for a family of four.

As a complete newbie to both gardening and hydroponics, I don't even have a clue as to how big a loose leaf lettuce plant gets when fully grown. Now, I do know that the seed package says the lettuce will be ready to harvest in about 6-8 weeks. Therefore, if one plant makes one salad, I would need to harvest and replant 3-4 plants a week x 8 weeks = 32 plants at all times. Plus a few extras to account for some lost plants.

Has anyone every tried something like this, that could share their experience?

Thanks
GoodGilligan

Old 09-11-2011, 04:45 PM

Location: Southeast Washington State - Right on the line of growing zones 6b & 7a

Well, in my inside bubbler (DWC) system I had 8 plants. That yeilded enough for a family salad (for 4 adults) once a week and a salad for myself once to twice a week mixing it with some store bought spinach since mine didn't make it. I only took 40% of the plant at any given time as I read somewhere. I planted in early June and just last week took out the plants as they bolted.

This is the only picture I could find of my inside system. Notice how they are laying over. They had dampening as sprouts from being too wet but I decided to let them go and see what would happen. They still provided very tasty leaves and grew like crazy. They eventually grew up into the light; it was an interesting experiment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hydroponics 001.jpg
Views:	964
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	1664