Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

System Design Help: Outdoor DWC Vegetable

Old 01-30-2012, 01:41 AM

Default System Design Help: Outdoor DWC Vegetable

I am ready to build my first DWC garden. I live in Tucson, AZ and am planning a build on the southside of my house which will have pretty full exposure through mid day but pretty good side coverage so as not to have too much sun.

I would like to grow salad greens, hopefully including spinach, Red Peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes and cherry tomatoes. We have 2 people to feed and were hoping for as close to year around production as we can.

I would like to know what the best system design would be. Right now I am thinking about burying several 5 gal buckets in the ground and having a reservoir for the nutrient water. I am new to this so I do not know how many buckets I should use or if that would be the correct size. I think I would like to have 8 options for different plants. I read somewhere that too many single pots with central reservoir would be difficult from a maintenance standpoint.

You feedback is appreciated.

Old 01-30-2012, 07:38 AM

How warm/hot will the water get? Any thoughts to nutrient temperatures?...

Last edited by GpsFrontier; 01-30-2012 at 07:42 AM.
Old 01-30-2012, 10:09 AM

since we have such intense sun in arizona I was planning on burying everything. I think the temperatures will be rather controlled
Old 01-30-2012, 11:18 AM

Specifically, i have heard soil temps are around 55 here but since it will partially at surface maybe a bit higher? Would just be guessing
Old 02-01-2012, 01:55 PM

looks like you have experience with this, would you also bury the buckets?
Old 02-02-2012, 08:19 AM

Not that I know a lot about this stuff (just getting started myself), but I gotta believe there is a reason that most commercial nurseries use NFT setups.