Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Your Hydroponics Setup

My first setup - NFT and Ebb and Flow

Old 11-06-2013, 01:18 PM

Default My first setup - NFT and Ebb and Flow

First off, hello everyone, this is my first post here. I am a professional grower that specializes in super hot peppers, but I also grow all types of vegetables for local markets. I have dabbled with DWC a little in the past, but never anything on the scale of which I am about to embark.

Due to some really inconsistent weather this year, our field grown lettuce was less than predictable so I made the investment into a 8-channel, 144 spot NFT system, a 4' x 8' x 7" flood table and a 4' x 4' x 7" flood table. All of these are located in my 14' x 16' greenhouse just outside of St. Louis. The hope is to supplement our weekly farmer's market sales with a bit of lettuce each week.

Untitled by GhostPepperStore.com, on Flickr

Unfortunately I do not have pictures of the flood tables right now, but I will come back and update with those and pictures of the NFT which is now plumbed on both sides.

The NFT setup is using a underground reservoir, which I thought would help with both algae growth and keeping the water temperatures down. I have a 1000gph pump which, surprisingly, is only getting me about 7L/m return at the drain pipe. Each channel is fed using (2) 1/4" microtube with an inline adjustable flow valve.

I will be using the smaller flood table to start my lettuce/spinach seedlings in 1.5" rockwool cubes then transfer them to the NFT once the roots are coming through the bottom. This tray will also double as a starting area for some of the other veggies in the Spring since it is quite an overkill since I will only be starting about 20 lettuce seeds each week.