Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

Hot weather hydroponics

Old 01-30-2010, 04:03 PM

Default Hot weather hydroponics

Hello y'all
I am a newb here! I read through the FAQ and found there,
that hydroponics would not work this far South. I live on the
Ga./Fla. line. Did I miss read that?,should I just forget
hydroponics as hobbiest? Sorry if this is a really stupid question
Tom
So.Ga.

Last edited by TomMegow; 01-30-2010 at 04:06 PM.
Old 01-30-2010, 04:22 PM

It will work but you may have to use a chiller on the water.
Old 01-30-2010, 04:25 PM

no way there are huge green houses in FL area. its really not that hot. Americas largest hydroponic green house is in AZ. It gets much hotter there then in FL. I will be doing a large for a person and not a business my self and it gets over 110 here a lot. What the plants do need is for the hydroponic water to be cool to the roots and not hot to "cook" the roots. I think they aim for 72? 76? some where around there. there are many good chillers that we can buy to cool the water down before it goes into the root system.
Old 01-30-2010, 04:46 PM

Isn't the reason why its bad letting the water get to warm is because it restricts the amount of oxygen that can dissolve in water, if so doesn't this only really apply to deep water culture? As NFT, aero.ponics and to some extent flood and drain part of the roots are never in the water anyway or roots are just getting splashed.
Old 01-30-2010, 04:57 PM

I have access to a Ditchwitch maybe I could
make shallow (3-4 ft deep) loop system to cool the
water or at least pre-cool it
Old 01-30-2010, 07:48 PM