Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponic Nutrients and Mediums

prune tomatoe plants


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2009, 08:26 AM
GregB GregB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default prune tomatoe plants

I have seen that you should 'prune tomato plants as they grow, how do you do this? Thanks, Greg
B. Fort Laud. Fl

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2009, 08:27 AM
Ron Ron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,285
Default

Hi Greg
Trim all the large lower fan leaves as they mature and pruned to a single stem supported by a string.
Remove the suckers (shoots) between the main stem and each leaf are removed when they are one
or two inches long because they take nutrients away from the main plant and fruit.
You can snap the suckers off with your fingers but be careful not to damage the main stem.
Ron

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.