Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

Hydrofarm System

Old 06-30-2010, 07:27 PM

Default Hydrofarm System

Does anybody have the Hydrofarm system and can help me out. This is my first time with hydroponics, and I NEED help. How long do I keep the tray flooded. I figure I would do two cycles to begin with, but how long does the tray stay flooded before I have the pump shut off and drain. The instructions do not say. Maybe this question applies to all ebb systems. Also, the instructions said to change the solution once a month, is that good enough.

Please help ASAP!

Phil

Old 06-30-2010, 09:19 PM

I am not familiar with the Hydrofarm system, but from what I have seen on line when I looked them up, the plants are basically suspended above the reservoir if what I found is what you have. The reason that they don't give flood cycles for the system is because that really depends on many factors like type of plant, plant size, heat, humidity and even type of growing medium as well as how much growing medium there is. What it comes down to is it just needs to be on long enough to wet the growing medium (but can remain on longer), and not off so long that the growing medium drys out but remains moist (not soaked). When it's off it allows the air and oxygen to get to the roots or they will likely suffocate (depending on type of plant), some plants don't mind wet feet, and others not so much.