Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponic Nutrients and Mediums

help!

Old 11-24-2009, 05:17 PM

Default help!

i'm just getting started out for the first time. any recommendations of brands of nutrients and any specific types of additives is should try?

Old 11-24-2009, 06:15 PM

Just starting out myself, so I don't have a lot of background with various brands or anything like that. However, the guy at one of our local hydroponic shops here in town turned me on to one of the Technaflora "Recipie for Success Starter Kits". Basically a little starter sample pack that contains the various main nurtients and suppliments Technaflora provides. Seems to be working out well for me thus far, but I don't really have anything to compare it against. And as far as I can tell from internet research I've done, Technaflora seems to be a fairly well respected brand as well. So, might not be all that helpful to you, but I can at least give Technaflora a thumbs up from my personal and somewhat limited use so far.
Old 11-24-2009, 06:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordstanleyscup View Post
i'm just getting started out for the first time. any recommendations of brands of nutrients and any specific types of additives is should try?
I have only used the General Hydroponics Flora Series nutrients myself, they are probably the most widely used nutrients on the market. They are not the cheapest on the market, but they will give you good results. For someone just starting out in hydroponics you probably want to eliminate as many possible problems as you can. That's not saying other products are not as good, just that the Flora series nutrients will work for sure.