Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

New and Undecided on Type of System

Old 12-17-2012, 03:40 PM

Smile New and Undecided on Type of System

Hi, I am new to hydroponics but not new to gardening. I want to grow vegetables for juicing, starting with cucumbers, indoors to have my juicing veggies.

I read few books on hydroponics and on different systems but I am not sure which one would be the best for me. It seems that ready-made ones are very expensive and I would need to roll up my sleeves and make it myself.

I have a sun-room where I could set up my pots. I would like to start small and expand as all goes well.

Can you recommend type of system that would be good for what I want to do?

Old 12-18-2012, 05:37 AM

Hello Blade,
Home made systems are easy to build and well worth the time and effort. What hydroponic system is best for you is a lot like which potting soil grows the best plants. There is no clearly specific answer that fits every situation.

What is best for you is really your decision to make. Some of the factors you will want to take into consideration are things like:

1. What type of budget do you have to work with?
2. What materials (within your budget) do you have access to to build your systems with?
3. What specifically are you going to grow in the system/s, and how many plants are you planing to grow?
4. Are you going to try and grow many crops in the same system, or are you only planing on gowning one crop to start with?
5. Are you planing on growing inside or outside?
6. What space do you have to work with? Not only taking into consideration the layout of the space and the hydroponic systems in it, but also things like the placement of the reservoir, heating and cooling, even air circulation and humidity if growing inside etc. etc. etc..