Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

Out side Hydroponics

Old 03-10-2012, 03:21 PM

Default Out side Hydroponics

So I'm new to this a bit, this winter I have had successes with both dwc and ebb and flow lettuce. I'm busy getting stuff started for the outside garden but I have been thinking about doing some hydro outdoors.

It sounds like nft is the preferred outdoor technique using some sort of pipe or gutter.
My concerns are the res and the very difficult task of burying anything without a backhoe.
And power failure leading to the quick death of plants.

How do you size the res? How many gallons per plant.

I also have a problem with very high Ph (8) water. So the res can not easily be topped off without PH correction. So if away for a few days there has to be enough water. Or is there some sort of cheap way to auto correct this if I use a float valve?

We loose power a lot, while I do have a generator if I'm not home its not going to get started.

Anyone have any luck with 12 volt dc pumps? I was think a large battery and a charger connected, so when to power goes out the pump keeps running. I might even consider a solar panel if I can find one cheep.

Also can you use one res for multiple plant types? Is there a happy medium for the food. Something every plant will like.

Old 03-10-2012, 03:51 PM

Location: Southeast Washington State - Right on the line of growing zones 6b & 7a

Quote:
Originally Posted by GardenState View Post
So I'm new to this a bit, this winter I have had successes with both dwc and ebb and flow lettuce. I'm busy getting stuff started for the outside garden but I have been thinking about doing some hydro outdoors.

It sounds like nft is the preferred outdoor technique using some sort of pipe or gutter. Any system that you use indoors can be used outdoors if it will meet the plants requirements with some planning.