Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

When to transplant seedlings to system. New to hydro

Old 06-14-2013, 06:01 PM

Default When to transplant seedlings to system. New to hydro

So this is my first time trying to grow with hydroponics (or really grow anything at all) and I started simple with Basil and Parsley. I started with 1.5" rockwool cubes and seeds. Now the basil has started growing leaves and so has the parsley and i have the cubes under a grow light for half of the day. One of the basil plants JUST started poking a root out of the bottom of the cube. Im finding mixed opinions online, some say transplant to system now and some say wait longer.

My plan is to use the floating raft method. So should i transplant the cube to the raft with the cube just below the raft touching the water, or should i wait until the roots are longer and the plant is larger? the leaves are very small still, maybe 1/4inch at most. Any help and advice would be awesome

Old 06-15-2013, 04:05 AM

Hello JibbaJoe0129,

Quote:
One of the basil plants JUST started poking a root out of the bottom of the cube. Im finding mixed opinions online, some say transplant to system now and some say wait longer.
Both opinions are accurate, it really depends on the grower. Though some factors that will affect having healthy plants are things like if you keep the cubes growing until the plants get bigger, but being able to keep the roots that hang out of the growing media moist so they wont dry out. Like keeping them in a enclosed container that holds humidity from water inside. And/or allowing the cubes to hang just above the water line so the roots that extend down through the cubes get moisture from the water below it (again so they wont dry out).