Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponic Nutrients and Mediums

What do you think about air pumps

Old 03-09-2009, 03:01 AM

Default What do you think about air pumps

I am new to actually doing Hydroponics but have been interested in it for years.
I just put together two different systems, one uses pvc, two liter bottles and a reservoir like Ron's 11 plant system. The other one is a 32 plant system with baskets that suspend over a holding tank and both systems are ebb-and-flow design. But my question is, I haven't seen anyone talking about Air pumps for oxygenating the nutrient solution in the reservoir. Any thoughts, is it worth the electricity?

Old 03-11-2009, 02:00 AM

Default Aeration

Unless your changing your nutrient every week or so, it does not hurt to oxegenate it. Helps in uptake and more importantly keeps nutrient from stagnating. Keeping the nutrient well oxygenated also swings the microbial equilibrium in factor of the beneficial microbes in the nutrient, as does starting with a clean system and equipment. So, start with clean system (i.e, 10% bleach clean out, rinse, fill then oxogenate nutrient.

Last edited by Mathmattx; 03-11-2009 at 02:03 AM.
Old 03-11-2009, 08:19 AM

what kind of pumps would you recommend to start with?
Old 03-11-2009, 03:45 PM

My air pump is for fish tanks and says it is for 30-60 gallon fish tanks. I got it from Wal-Mart. I live in Lake Havasu AZ. and because it gets so hot here most of the year the electric bill is already very high. So I am still wondering if it uses more electricity than it is beneficial to the plants.
Old 03-11-2009, 04:46 PM

Default Pennies