Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Your Hydroponics Setup

diy climate control system


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2010, 07:10 PM
GpsFrontier GpsFrontier is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Havasu AZ.
Posts: 1,855
Default diy climate control system

I was watching some youtube videos on diy-hydroponics for the fun of it, and I ran across this video about building a diy climate control system. I have had the very same idea but just have not constructed one yet. Although I wouldn't be using solar power. Not that I don't like the idea, but the solar cells (of descent size) usually cost a pretty penny, and usually only last a couple of years. I'm waiting for the new type of solar cells to come out. They come in a roll, and roll out like a roll of wall paper but are like vinyl sheeting and can adhere to just about any surface, even curved surfaces. They are expected to be less expensive and much more efficient.

YouTube - DIY Homemade Hydroponics - S01E10 Climate Control

I would be using regular household electricity to power mine at this point. Both to run heating and cooling. But I have a plan to use propane burners for heating. I would still need to build the on and off system for the propane burners to be switched on by electricity. Much the same way a gas water heater works. For cooling I have 3 or 4 ideas that can all be switched on and off with the same type of setup, but I am trying to stay away from air conditioning because it would cost a fortune to cool a greenhouse here in the desert.

__________________
Website Owner
Home Hydroponic Systems

Last edited by GpsFrontier; 02-24-2011 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:16 AM
ksm2002 ksm2002 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default

As far as controlling your propane heaters, I would say you are right on the money when mentioning how a gas furnace operates. I would think maybe you could get a control module for a furnace and rig it to your propane heaters inline with a thermostat.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.