Hydroponics Online Home Home Store Blog Forums FAQs Lesson Plans Pictures

Go Back   Hydroponics Forums Discussions > Hydroponics Discussion Forums > Hydroponics

does anything come OUT of the roots ?

Old 03-13-2010, 11:04 AM

Default does anything come OUT of the roots ?

I have a general plant/gardening question. Does anyone here know if anything comes OUT of roots ? I realize a mixture of water and dissolved nutients go IN the roots via roothairs, I believe. Besides needing to keep the nutrient level adequate is there anything that the plant puts back into the solution which might be harmful to the plant and worth removing ? i. e. drain the water/nutrient mix regularly and refill with a fresh batch. Use the waste/drainage to water the houseplants or soil-grown.

Old 03-13-2010, 05:43 PM

Quote:
I have a general plant/gardening question. Does anyone here know if anything comes OUT of roots ?
I am no expert, but as I understand it some plants do indeed put out root exudates. Peas are legumes and put out root exudates that help foster a relationship with Nitrogen fixing microbes. It can also be a healing or defensive response to repel insect attack, or it can even be an offensive habit (to repel other incompatible or competitive plants). This may in fact be a factor with the pH problem I'm having with my pea plants.
Quote:
is there anything that the plant puts back into the solution which might be harmful to the plant and worth removing